SCORE Testifies To Get Funding Support for Efforts

SCORE, Counselors to America’s Small Business, has over 300 offices nationwide where counselors offer free counseling and inexpensive workshop to support startups and small business. The organization needs funds to support its efforts, and Ken Yancey, the CEO of SCORE Association, testified last month before congress on this topic. Here’s the video and a link to his testimony.

Here is the Full text of Yancey’s testimony.

Gene’s Professional Cleaning was mentioned in SCORE CEO Ken Yancey’s Testimony before the U.S. Small Business Subcommittee, March 12, 2008:

“Gene Davis learned about SCORE from the newspaper and decided to seek counseling to start a cleaning service. Chicago SCORE helped him create marketing materials and turn his disability, a major hearing impairment, into a positive selling point. “SCORE Counselor Elliot Shear is on my side and shows me how to run the business,” he says. “I wanted to improve myself and my service, and SCORE has helped me do that. I feel like my business will only continue to grow.” Gene’s goals are to get more clients and hire other hearing-impaired African-Americans to help them become independent too.”

If you’d like to Contribute to SCORE Chicago, here’s the link.

Posted in SCORE Chicago. Tags: , , . Comments Off on SCORE Testifies To Get Funding Support for Efforts
